Timor-Leste's new maritime boundary with Australia has come into force, and new production sharing contracts have been signed with oil and gas operators including ConocoPhillips.

The Maritime Boundaries Treaty was ratified by the governments in both countries on 30 August.

The treaty establishes permanent maritime boundaries between the two countries and a legal framework for the development of oil and gas resources in the Timor Sea.

The two sides also signed transitional arrangements that will provide commercial certainty and security during the transition from the Timor Sea Treaty to the new Maritime Boundaries Treaty.