Five littoral Caspian states have reached an agreement on a legal framework for the use of Caspian Sea resources after more than 20 years of debate.

The presidents of the five countries — Russia, Kazakhstan, Turkmenistan, Iran and Azerbaijan — met on 12 August at the 5th Caspian Summit in the Kazakhstan port of Aktau to sign the Caspian Sea convention, a measure meant to ease some long-simmering regional disputes over shared use of the resource-rich sea.